Krakow’s Hotel Pod Wawelem

Hotel Website: Hotel Pod Wawelem

When I was looking for a hotel in Krakow, I was quite clueless.  I looked at the city on Google Maps and I was trying to decide where exactly to stay.  Should I stay in the Jewish Quarter, the city center, or near Wawel Castle.  Since I was going to stay the night by myself, I wanted a secure hotel that I would feel safe at.  I also wanted to stay somewhere less expensive.  I got a great rate on hotels.com so I decided to stay near Wawel Castle and the river.

I got off my train at 7:00 and went on my way to find the hotel.  It was a good 2 km walk.  It was actually a quite pleasant walk.  Only a few people were out doing their daily morning things, and most of the roads were lined with big trees.  I loved walking through Rynek Glowny that early.  I was the only person walking through this huge square.

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 17.01.20
The hotel, here on the corner.

I finally got to the hotel, and they were kind enough to hold my bag; of course, my room wasn’t ready that early in the morning. Luckily, I saw some bikes locked up outside and the desk clerk made me aware that they were free to use by guests; I only needed to leave a deposit.  I left a deposit and started my day of sight seeing via bike.  Bike is the best way of seeing this city, I think.  Pod Wawelem was also a great location because if you are going anywhere South, you can ride along the river which has a big bike/walk lane.  When you are riding on the city roads, just be careful of the metal trolley car tracks in the road.  My front tire got caught in one of the tracks and I almost fell during rush hour, thankfully I was able to save myself and keep biking.

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 16.59.42
The Front Desk.  Photo Credit: Hotel Pod Wawelem Website

After a good half day of sightseeing, I returned to the hotel to check in.  Everything was in order and I retrieved my bag that they had put in a closet near the front desk.  My room was on the 3rd floor.  This is a small hotel.  There is a small lift that maybe one person and their suitcase could fit in.  My room had two twin beds in it.  It was a very basic room, but it was clean.  My window was facing the back of the hotel so I had a nice view of other people’s windows of the building behind.  After staying in my room to read some tourism brochures, I went back out and rented my same bike again.

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 16.58.02

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 16.57.31
Photo Credit: Hotel Pod Wawelem Website

I returned to the hotel when it was dark.  I felt like the neighborhood was safe.  I was returning from Rynek Glowny area so the trip South to the hotel was quite nice.  There were still quite a lot of people out, especially along the river.  Across from the hotel is the Square of the Grand Army of Napoleon.  There were a lot of people skateboarding and biking there, with a lot of people socializing.

I was able to sleep well at the hotel.  I could hear a few people returning to their rooms during the night, before I fell asleep so the walls and door are not that sound proof.

Breakfast in the morning was quite nice.  It wasn’t a huge spread, but it had a variety of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, and cereal.  There were a few interesting looking Polish dishes that I didn’t have the courage to try.

I checked out after breakfast.  I was still able to rent one of their bikes for the day, and they also held my backpack for me.

Leave a Reply

